Testimonials

Lest's hear what people say about CBGA and their trips

    positive review  Kunthea was an excellent birding guide with a sharp eye, quick with the scope and good knowledge of the birds and their habitat. It wax a wonderful day trip!

    Pierre Richard Avatar Pierre Richard
    March 5, 2019

    positive review  I took a half day evening tour with CBGA in January. It was a perfect tour. My guide, Sean, and our driver picked me up from my hotel and we drive out of town to the marshlands. We saw 56 different species and a beautiful sunset. Please don’t hesitate to use this tour company.

    Ruth Roling Devereaux Avatar Ruth Roling Devereaux
    February 26, 2019

    positive review  Definitely a great joy to travel with the skillfull staff of CBGA. We were able to find all our target species thanks to the excellent guides.

    Johannes Hohenegger Avatar Johannes Hohenegger
    February 21, 2019

    positive review  CBGA organized a 12 day birding tour for me from December 3-14, and it was a tremendous success, with all targets seen, excellent food throughout, and flawless logistics. Nara was a top notch guide and great company!

    Bryan Gieszl Avatar Bryan Gieszl
    January 16, 2019

    positive review  Terrific experience with CBGA guides over a four day period. I had the pleasure to spend time with Kunthea Chhoun, Yeat, and Nara Duong. They we all so knowledgable and fantastic people to spend my days with.

    Dave Nemazie Avatar Dave Nemazie
    November 5, 2018

    positive review  I spent 4 days with guides from CBGA. I had come to Cambodia to run the marathon and to do some bird watching while there. August is not a good month for bird watching in Southeast Asia (January-February is better) but they were able to show me 111 different species. They also were very informative about the different temple complexes where we spent time. So if you happen to be in Cambodia for a few days, look these people up, you won’t be disappointed!

    Joe Church Avatar Joe Church
    August 9, 2018

    5 star review  We just got back from a last minute trip to Siem Reap, and CBGA did a great job organizing a temple/bird and marshland tour for us on very short notice. Our guide, Yeat, shared a vast amount of knowledge about the temples, bird/wildlife, and the culture of Cambodia. We learned so much, and loved our visit. I was really pleased with the number and types of places we visited with our time, the drivers were wonderful, and provided meals were excellent. Excellent value for the investment. We will reccomened CBGA to anyone we know headed to Siem Reap!

    Heather Luedecke Avatar Heather Luedecke
    July 9, 2018

    5 star review  Altogether a nice trip. We were there end of March 2018 for a week. Hotel at Siem Reap was excellent. We travelled in a comfortable, air conditioned SUV. Guide was competent. Saw alot of birds and firsts. Food was great. Day at Angkor Wat was perfect accompaniment. Highly recommended.

    Warren Bilkey Avatar Warren Bilkey
    April 30, 2018

    5 star review  My wife and I recently did a 16 day trip with CBGA. The first couple of days at the beginning were with guide Yeat at the temples around Siem Reap. We really enjoyed the experience and found Yeat to be a kind and knowledgeable guide. The next two weeks were with bird guide Nara and driver Da touring some of the best birding sites in Cambodia. The trip was flawlessly organized and well executed by their entire team. We had a great time and saw over 300 species of birds including several difficult to see species. Nara is an expert birder and guide, and a lot of fun to be with. Thank you CBGA team for the exceptional trip.

    Bob Steele Avatar Bob Steele
    March 20, 2018

    5 star review  The guides were extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic to have us all there and share the information. The Phnom Krom half day tour started early in the morning so that we could see as many birds as possible. The lunch they brought with was delicious and included in the price. I appreciate all that they’re doing in the name of conservation and would highly recommend them.

    Sharlee Hughes Avatar Sharlee Hughes
    March 14, 2018

    5 star review  I took one of the Siem Reap tours with friends yesterday (Feb 28) led by Nop Pisey. and had a fabulous experience. It far exceeded my expectations. Our guide and his driver were professional and knowledgeable as was the local guide. Our breakfast box was great and the lunch prepared by a local woman at one of the birding sites was very good. We saw 49 bird species, almost all new to me and seeing 4 different species of owls in the afternoon was an unexpected thrill.Thanks for the great experience which is sure to be a highlight of my time in Siem Reap!

    Anita Oliver Avatar Anita Oliver
    March 1, 2018

    5 star review  I cannot say enough good things about the fabulous 3 days that we spent with CBGA in the Siem Reap area earlier this month. The entire experience, from the flawless online booking process to the excellent birding and temple tours, was phenomenal! We booked a half day visit to the Phnom Kroam wetlands, a full day at the Angkor Complex, and a full day to Koh Ker and Beng Mealea. I consider us to be extraordinarily fortunate to have had Sanh Sophoan as our birding and temple guide. It's just not possible to overstate how wonderful she is! So's spotting and identification skills are outstanding, she is a knowledgable, and entertaining temple guide, and her personality is simply delightful. Her passion for her country's history and its natural wonders, and for ensuring that her clients have a wonderful experience, is very clear. I could go on and on, but I'll close by saying that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend CBGA, and Sanh Sophoan, to anyone considering a trip to Cambodia!

    Elizabeth Rausch Avatar Elizabeth Rausch
    November 17, 2017

    5 star review  Hans and I, so excited! 41 different species in just a few hours. AND 9 LIFERS !! We were met at 5.30am our bird guide Nara Doung from CBGA (Cambodian Bird Guide Association) took us to Phnom Krom. Just a little to the south west of Siem Reap was a vast marshland area where lotus was farmed. Thousands of blossums swayed in the breeze but lurking on the wide lillypads were Chinese Pond-herons. Then suddenly a dark glossy bird with a chestnut coloured back flapped into view. It had the most ridiculously long toes. It was the Bronze-winged Jacana! A new bird. Then a flock of White-shouldered Starlings flew in. Another new bird!We moved around the fields and ponds picking up more common birds like all the Egrets and Doves but Bitterns were around too. A couple of resident Black Bitterns gave us great views as they flew close by. A Cinnamon and a Yellow Bittern afforded us just fleeting glimpses.Playing a little bit of "call back" recording, we managed a good head view of the Chestnut-capped Babbler that continued to call and chirrip from the thick roadside brush. Another Lifer (new bird).But what was truely stunning was to venture to Kuk Chreav Rd, south-west of Siem Reap and see +1000 Oriental Prantincoles. I have only seen the occassional one in Australia. Here, they were residing after their breeding season. Milling in between were both Common and Wood Sandpipers, a Pacific Golden Plover with fading breeding plumage, a Little-ringed Plover and a passage migrant Long-toed Stint.And then there were several Pin-tailed Snipes feeding nearby. Wow what a delight! The list is too long for this review.

    Burnice Starkey Avatar Burnice Starkey
    September 16, 2017

    5 star review  In June 2017, I did a 3 days tour for birdwatching and bird photo in Northern Cambodia (Siem Reap and Northern Plains). It is a great place for birding, with a large number of specie, where some are really very rare and difficult to find. Actually it is the second time that I spend time for birding with these guides.My guide from CBGA has an excellent knowledge of the places where to find birds, but also an amazing bird culture: he knows every songs and noises of any bird you may hear in Cambodia.Last but not least, the guide's English is excellent, and he is a very friendly and sympathetic guy. It was a great pleasure to enjoy birding with him (he is as passionated as I am) and I'm looking forward to spending another bird tour with this association.Obviously, I strongly recommend CBGA and its guides.

    Olivier Picard Avatar Olivier Picard
    June 9, 2017

    5 star review  Bird watching with CBGA in May/June 2017 was an amazing cultural and Ornithology experience. It was a perfect combination of visiting UNESCO site Angkor Wat and viewing endemic and endangered species that are difficult to find. Several unique habitats and locations were investigated because of their superb driving skills and the guide knowledge. This organization truly supports the establishment of local eco tourism development as a means to protect wildlife.

    Sally Wilder Pfeiffer Avatar Sally Wilder Pfeiffer
    June 9, 2017

    5 star review  I love this group work in the term of wildlife conservation and local livelihood support through Eco tours.!

    Khun Ratana Avatar Khun Ratana
    February 11, 2017
Back to Top